in Flowers, Fruits and Seeds by

1 Answer

0 votes

A typical flower has a stalk known as pedicel. The swollen top of the pedicel is called as the thalamus where all the floral parts are arranged. The flower has four floral whorls they are calyx, corolla, androecium and gynoecium. The calyx and corolla are known as non-essential whorls and the androecium and gynoecium are known as the essential whorls. These essential whorls take part in the fertilization.