in Neural Control and Coordination (Nervous System) by

1 Answer

0 votes

The forebrain consists of three parts each having their own specific functions: They are as follows:

  1. Cerebrum: It has the centers for an controls Intelligence, Emotion, Memory, Knowledge, Reasoning, Experience, Voluntary and mindly functions. If the cerebrum is removed the animal becomes a simple reflex animal.
  2. Diencephalon consists of Thalamus and Hypothalamus.
    The Thalamus functions in alert mechanisms of the body. It is associated with pain, pleasure and emotions. It plays an important role in producing complex reflex actions.
    The Hypothalamus acts as a living watch of the animal. It is responsible for controlling the body temperature (Thermoregulator), Water metabolism, Hunger and thirst and controls neurosecretions.