in Neural Control and Coordination (Nervous System) by

1 Answer

0 votes

Cell is the basic unit of all living organism, similarly neuron or the nerve cell is the basic unit of the nervous system. There are two types of tissues in the nervous system

(a) Neuroectodermal tissues – includes neurons and neuroglia.

(b) Mesodermal tissues – include microglia, leptomeninges, dura mater and blood vessels.

It is through the nerve cells that the impulses are transmitted through the body and the body responses to the stimuli. Nerve cells are connected to each other and the point of connection is known as synapses.

The neuron consist of three parts

(1) Cell body

(2) Axon

(3) Numerous dendrites

Depending upon the function of the neurons they are classified into three types:

(1) Sensory neurons

(2) Motor neurons

(3) Association neurons

Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.