in Flowers, Fruits and Seeds by

1 Answer

0 votes

Symmetry of a flower is determined depending upon the division of a flower into two equal halves along any diameter.

The different types of symmetry of a flower are listed in the table given below:


Type of Symmetry




Actinomorphic (Symmetrical)

Actinomorphic flowers can be divided by any vertical plane into two equal and similar halves.

Catharanthus roseus, Brinjal, Mustard


Zygomorphic (Monosymmetrical)

Zygomorphic flowers can be divided into two equal halves by only one vertical division.

Ocimum, Pea


Asymmetrical (Irregular)

Asymmetrical flowers cannot be divided into two equal halves by any vertical division.

Orchids, Canna


Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.