in Cell as a Unit of Life by

1 Answer

0 votes

The cells present in prokaryotic organisms do not have membrane bound organelles. These cells are called as prokaryotic cells.

The characteristics of prokaryotic cells are:

  1. Prokaryotic cells are smaller in size ranging from 1-10 µm.
  2. They have three basic structures- Plasma membrane, nuclear material and cytoplasm.
  3. The nuclear material is DNA which is without histone proteins. It is naked (in direct contact with cytoplasm) and called as a nucleoid or genophore. They contain a single  chromosome. Nucleolus and Nuclear membrane absent.
  4. Membrane bound organelles such as mitochondria are absent in prokaryotic cells.
  5. Ribosomes are small, membrane-less of 70S types made up of two subunits i.e. 50S and 30S.