in Plant Reproduction by

1 Answer

0 votes

The sporogeneous tissues of the archesporium give rise to the microspore mother cell or pollen mother cell (PMC).  The pollen mother cells are polygonal in shape and it is tightly packed until the anther begins to increase in size.  All the PMC can form the pollen grains even then some of the cells disintegrate and acts as nourishment for the developing pollen grains. The diploid pollen mother cell undergoes the meiotic division to form the four microspores which are haploid generations. These four microspores so formed are known as the pollen tetrad. The spores of the pollen tetrads are completely separated from each other and also from the other tetrads.

Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.