in Algae by

1 Answer

0 votes

Reproduction in algae takes place either Asexually or Sexually.

  1. Asexual Reproduction: They are of three types.
    1. Fragmentation: The thallus breaks into smaller fragments each of which gives rise to another thallus.
    2. Spores: They are produced in vegetative cells or in specialized structures called sporangia. They non motile spores are called aplanospores and the flagellated motile spores are called zoospores.
    3. Binary fission: Nuclear division followed by cytoplasmic division.
  2. Sexual Reproduction: In sexual reproduction, male and female gametes unite to form a diploid zygote. The eggs are formed within the oogonia and sperms are produced in male reproductive structures called antheridia.