in Neural Control and Coordination (Nervous System) by

1 Answer

0 votes

  1. On structural and functional basis the brain can be divided into 3 regions. They are Forebrain, Midbrain and Hindbrain.
  2. Midbrain is the region of the brain stem that contains reflex centers and tracts. It is located below thalamus and above pons
  3. Midbrain is located between the thalamus/hypothalamus of the forebrain and pons of the hindbrain.
  4. A canal called cerebral aqueduct passes through the midbrain.
  5. The dorsal portion of the midbrain consists mainly of four round swellings (lobes) called corpora quadrigemina.
  6. Integration of visual, tactile, and auditory inputs occurs in the midbrain.
Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.