in Biomolecules by

1 Answer

0 votes

Essential amino acids:

The amino acids which cannot be synthesized by the human body and must be supplied through the diet are called Essential amino acids. They are also called as indispensable amino acids which are needed for proper growth and maintenance.

There are 10 essential amino acids: Arginine, Histidine, Isoleucine, Valine, Leucine, Lysine, Methionine, Phenylalanine, Tryptophan and Threonine. 

Non essential amino acids:

The amino acids which can be synthesized by the body and need not be consumed in the diet are called Non essential amino acids or dispensable amino acids. These include- Alanine, serine, cysteine, glycine, asparaginase, aspartate, proline, glutamine, glutamate, tyrosine.

Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.